Saturday, October 18, 2008

India commemorates Republic Day every year

Although India's Independence Day falls on 15 August, it also officially commemorates the Republic Day on 26 January to mark the adoption of the republican constitution in 1950, and successful transfers of all hereditary powers of some 460 feudal lords to one sovereign republic.
On 28 May this year, neighbouring Nepal also declared itself a secular republic, thus ending the 239-year and last Hindu monarchy on earth. Major Muslim-majority countries like Indonesia, Pakistan, Iran, Iraq, Kazakhstan, Turkey and Egypt are also republic in their constitutions.

Secular constitution in India very progressive


Post a Comment

<< Home